Welcome to Project Management Questions!

You can ask any question on Project Management and you can rest assured that real Project Managers will answer your shortly!

What is the wait period after failing the PMP exam?

I just failed the PMP exam. It was a very stressful test, and I had spent 2 months non-stop studying for this exam. Anyway, what's done is done and I want to regroup and take the test again as soon as possible.

Is there an official wait period (imposed by PMI) following the test during which I cannot take the exam? In other words, am I forced to wait for a specific time before taking the exam again?
asked 11 years ago by anonymous

1 Answer

Unless you have failed for the 3rd time, there is no wait period at all, you can schedule your next exam immediately. This is called reexamination, so you won't have to re-apply for PMP another time, you just schedule the exam.

However, if its the third time you've failed the exam, then you have to wait for a year after your last exam, until you're eligible to re-apply for PMP. (Source: The PMP Handbook, page 28)

Note that even if you failed for the first time, you can still apply for another PMI credential immediately (including CAPM, PgMP, PMI-RMP...).
answered 11 years ago by humblepm (17,390 points)

Related questions

© 2010 - 2012 Project Management Questions - All Rights Reserved